First blog post in many, many years

In the summer of 2013, I decided I needed to write a book.  Like most lazy people, I’d had the idea rattling around in my skull for at least five years.  For whatever reason, July of 2013 seemed like a good time to start writing.

I wrote up the first six pages, haphazardly introducing characters that would become friends over the next few months while I hammered away at writing.  The scariest part of all of it was handing those first six pages to my wife to take a look at.  To my surprise, not only did my writing not give her a tumor, she actually thought it was pretty good.

I had the story in mind, but not the details.  I don’t know if it was just because the story was straightforward or if everyone does this, but the details came as I wrote it.  When I got to a point at the end that tied up the plot, I actually surprised myself.  Still not sure how I managed make it all make some sort of sense, but I’m also not complaining.

The second hardest part of writing Henchmen (see link below) was one of the final scenes where everyone went their separate ways.  It honestly felt like saying goodbye to friends.

I’m working on the sequel now, which will answer most of the questions the few people who have been kind enough to read it have asked me.

Damn, that was a convoluted sentence.

Anyway, this is the first post.  I’m not sure where this blog is going, but I believe in Zen navigation: I might not get where I want to go, but I’ll definitely get where I need to go.

If you’re interested, Henchmen is story about super villainy brought somewhat closer to ground.  I tried to make the story fit within a realistic framework and brought in some of the things I’ve learned from working in security.  It’s a fun read.  It’s got everything you really need in a book: fights with Yakuza, a demi-goddess, government secrets best left alone, scary villains and an ancient god, who may or may not be what he claims to be.

You can purchase a copy of Henchmen for the low, low, crazy low price of $2.99 at Amazon by going  to http://www.amazon.com/Henchmen-Eric-Lahti-ebook/dp/B00GRXB5IK/ref=sr_1_sc_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1389754387&sr=8-2-spell&keywords=hencmen

Trust me, it won’t change your life, but you’ll get an entertaining story.

Leave a Reply

