I hate Sundays and Wednesdays

Recently I broke my workouts into two distinct sections so I could focus more on each of them.  I had been mixing weights and cardio and, to an extent, still do, but I’ve got really limited time most of the week and felt I needed more time to dedicate to lifting and it wouldn’t hurt to expand my cardio workout.  So, now Mondays and Fridays are weights with running in between each set and Sundays and Wednesdays focus more on cardio with limited weights.  The Monday and Friday workouts are easier in a way, and I usually look forward to them more, but the Sunday and Wednesday workouts are where the rubber really hits the road and I walk out of the gym completely wiped out.

The cardio workout largely consists of heavy bag training with body weight exercises tossed in for good effect.

Set 1:

  • 10 jumping lunges
  • 4 minutes heavy bag work
  • 15 squats with two 25 lb kettle bells
  • 25 push-ups
  • 25 sit-ups
  • 1 minute rest

Set 2:

  • 10 jumping lunges
  • 4 minutes heavy bag work
  • 15 squats with two 25 lb kettle bells
  • 25 push-ups
  • 30 seconds leg lifts
  • 1 minute rest

Set 3:

  • 4 minutes heavy bag work
  • 2 1/2 minutes planking (30 seconds push-up plank, 30 seconds elbow plank, 30 seconds left side plank, 30 seconds right side plank, 30 seconds push-up plank)
  • 1 minute rest

Set 4:

  • 10 jumping lunges
  • 4 minutes heavy bag work
  • 15 squats with two 25 lb kettle bells
  • 25 push-ups
  • 25 sit-ups
  • 1 minute rest

Set 5:

  • 10 jumping lunges
  • 4 minutes heavy bag work
  • 15 squats with two 25 lb kettle bells
  • 25 push-ups
  • 30 seconds leg lifts
  • collapse

I guess the upshot to the whole process is I’ve developed a killer punch and am getting a decent 1 inch punch as well.  I can usually hit a moving bag with a spinning back kick now, and can nearly bend the bag in half if I hit just right with a wheel kick (most styles call it a roundhouse kick, Kenpo calls it a wheel kick for some reason).  I’ve also managed to get some power into my crescent kicks.

The downside is I’m really tired right now.

The heavy bag work is 4 minutes of continual bobbing, weaving, moving, punching and kicking.  Any attack is good so long as there’s minimal downtime.  Pretty soon I’m going to have to increase my kettle bell weights and heavy bag time.

Not looking forward to that day.

Leave a Reply

