Clarity

I feel like I should probably clarify something. I periodically get requests to review a book and, while I’m flattered, I usually don’t wind up reviewing that book. This isn’t meant to say I’m not interested in the requests I get, I’m just not primarily a book review blog. I’m not sure if I could say exactly what kind of blog I’m running here, but it’s definitely not intended to be a book review blog. There are people who much better at that than me. Go to the pros; they’ve got a bigger following, anyway.

You see, as soon as I published my first book and found just how damned difficult it is to get reviews, I decided to start reviewing everything I read (even that CISSP book that I’m still stumbling through). Over time I’ve managed to review quite a few things, but it’s usually stuff I find on my own. I know I usually give glowing reviews, but that’s just how I am. If I come across something I don’t like, it doesn’t get reviewed. I’d rather praise something than bring someone down.

At any rate, if you’ve got something you want me to review, you can drop me a line, but be warned I may or may not get back to you. I’m not trying to be a jerk or anything, I just don’t have a huge amount of free time. Even if I agree to review something, it may or may not get posted; like I said, I don’t leave negative reviews.

All that said, reviews don’t have to be intricate. If you’re struggling with writing a review for something on Amazon or wherever, go simple. As an author, all I really need to see is “I liked it.” If there’s a problem or you don’t like something, that’s all good, too.

Here’s some clip ‘n’ save pre-built reviews for your perusing pleasure.

  • I liked it.
  • I stayed up all night pondering the philosophical ramifications.
  • This book was so bad I think it gave me cancer.
  • A most enjoyable read about <insert subject here>.
  • While I cannot rid the world of this piece of effluvia, I am now making it my goal in life to make sure no one else ever suffers the crippling side-effects of reading it.
  • After reading this book I feel like colors are brighter and birds are singing only to me. It was that good!
  • Life is now dull and meaningless, a trite exercise in the mechanics day-to-day existence. It was that good, and that’s a bad thing.

Anyway, keep writing. If you’ve got something you think I might like, drop me a line. I can’t promise I’ll read it or even review it, but you never know. It never hurts to ask. I don’t have much in the way of a review policy, so I can’t point you to that, but I do enjoy lots of different genres.

And now, your moment of Zen.

Welcome-to-the-inernet

9 thoughts on “Clarity

  1. Reblogged this on graemecummingdotnet and commented:
    The subject of reviews comes up quite a lot but, for most readers, if you put a blank piece of paper (or screen) in front of them and told them to write a review, they probably wouldn’t know where to start.

    So, although this post from Eric Lahti is written in a very tongue in cheek style, it actually offers a very practical solution. It would be interesting to see if anyone else out there has any further examples to add. I’ll save this to Flipboard anyway, so it’ll be there as a useful reference.

      1. I hope it helps at least someone. A review doesn’t have to be hard or clever; a quick note of good or bad is really all it takes for the most part.

  2. I do a lot of reviews but like you I tend to stay clear of books that I don’t like. I’d rather not bother reading books that I’d only rate with one or two stars. I don’t take any pleasure from giving negative reviews I enjoy promoting those I like. 🙂

    1. I’ve come across a few (only a few) that I simply couldn’t finish. I just wouldn’t feel good leaving a bad review; I’d rather get hold of the author (if possible) and say “here’s what I think”, but that’s not always possible.

Leave a Reply

