Lucha Libre, Lego, and Legends

I’ve been a fan of Lego since I was old enough to put brick on brick and make – well – two bricks.  Over the years I built up quite the collection and when I left college I gave the kit and kaboodle to a friend who had a four year old son.  That was in ’98, if I recall.  Flash forward and now I’ve got my own son and he digs Lego, too.  For the better part of two decades I ignore Lego because I just never really made it into the toy aisle at Target.  During that time I completely missed out on the Vikings Lego sets and I’m still kicking myself for not picking up that Ferrari kit I saw at the dollar store twelve years ago.

A couple years ago, with my son’s Lego addiction in full swing and the Masters of Spinjitzu playing 24/7 on the TV, I wrote my first letter to Lego ever.  In it I detailed a plan for a new collection of sets.  They had Spinjitzu, those pseudo Ninja masters on a constant path for betterment, but I offered up something new and probably unheard in Billund where Lego has its offices: Lucha Libre.

For the uninitiated, Lucha Libre is better known as Mexican Wrestling, a high-flying circus of free wrestling where the masks are almost as important as the moves.

150421172828-somebodys-gotta-do-it-mike-rowe-luchador-masks-7-super-169

My pitch to Lego was about a loveable group of Lucha Libres fighting evil in their native Mexico.  It would have brought in all kinds of Central American myths and legends, a region that has some amazing stories to tell.  El Chupacabra?  A Central and South American cryptid, appropriated by the U.S. Southwest.  The Central American region is ripe with stories that could have been amazing.  Aztec Gods, Mayan pyramids, they could have fought Quetzalcoatl or worked together to save the world, all while donning their trademark masks.

Lego, unfortunately, has their own in-house group that develops lines and stories.  They politely declined my idea.

I felt then, and still feel, that Lucha Libre has some stories that could be told.  It’s arguable that Bane (of Batman fame) was a Lucha Libre.  At the very least the Bane of the comics wore a traditional mask, even if his back story was more genius prison-escapee than high-flying athlete.

Bane was a wee-bit bigger in the comics than portrayed in The Dark Knight Rises.
Bane was a wee-bit bigger in the comics than portrayed in The Dark Knight Rises.

It turns out there are multiple comics featuring Lucha Libre fighters.  From Marvel’s El Muerto

elMuerto

 

to others

lamano01 El-Gorgo-02-Page-001-776410 powermanwrestler-pm27

They’ve even made it to the movies.

elguye

 

lucha-libre1

But their stories have never made it to the realms of fiction.  At least as far as I can tell.  I think it’s time for a Lucha Libre to make an appearance in the Henchmen universe.  I’ve got Kenpo and Savate covered, the tenuous links from Henchmen into the world of Aluna cover Wushu, I think some classic Mesoamerican brawling needs to show up.

Lego may not be interested in Lucha Libre (their loss), but it’s an amazing thing and I’ll definitely be folding it into Henchmen 3.  There are excellent gods, excellent legends, amazing stories that need to be told.

elluchadormarcardo

I wonder if Lego would be interested in Dia De Los Muertos storyline.

streetart2

By the way, here’s a couple great sites about Luchadores:

Superheroes as Luchadores

tumblr_n3l6kdfKC41qifv4go1_1280

La Mano Del Destino, a Luchadore comic

mano01

Leave a Reply

